Can vegans and vegetarians drink alcohol? - Boozez

Can vegans and vegetarians drink alcohol?

bars in Singapore

Credits : Unsplash

To start off, what are the differences between vegans and vegetarians? Vegetarians and vegans do not consume meat, poultry, and seafood. Some vegetarians exclude dairy and eggs but some don’t. The main difference is that vegans eliminate all animal products and by-products from their diet. This includes any type of animal milk, eggs and even honey. Vegans also avoid foods that are produced with animals or animal products in any way. TLDR: Vegans don’t want anything to do with animals.

Animal products are often used in distillation process of drinks and hence most alcoholic drinks are not vegan. Such animal derivatives are usually used to refine and clarify the drinks. As a result, certain types of alcohols are not suitable for vegans to consume. But, there are always other options that are available.

Beer

beer

Credits : Pinterest

Beer is sometimes processed with animal derivatives such as chitosan, egg whites, or gelatin but these ingredients are usually listed on the ingredients list. Such derivatives are used to clarify ale during the secondary fermentation stage, to make the end product visibly clearer for the beer to look better when put on sale. However, vegan ale is a fast-growing trend and include Heineken, Budweiser, and Carlsberg.

Wine

wine

Credits : Pinterest

Similarly, in the production of wine, popular animal derivatives are used as “fining agents” which help to remove cloudiness, protein and other organic particles in the wine after fermentation. So even though wine is made from grapes, not all of them are vegan. But more winemakers are turning to non-animal alternatives such as charcoal based alternative which make the wine vegan. For example, almost half of Mark’s and Spencer’s wine collection is vegan so do check them out!

Spirits

vodka

Credits : Pinterest

Almost every type of spirit or hard liquor such as tequila, whiskey, vodka, gin, and rum, are considered to be vegan except for cream-based liqueurs and products that mention honey on the label. Most spirits are acceptable for vegetarians and vegans as they do not tend to involve the use of animal substances. Made by the process of distillation, there is no need for processing of the alcohol with animal derivatives and hence most spirits are suitable for consumption by vegans and vegetarians.

For more informative content, check out Boozez.com!